Posted by: joannadrennen | April 20, 2010

Rekindling the competitive spirit

I celebrated and mourned this year as the final year that I will be participating in organized, competitive team sports.

I felt a little lost for a few months without having the structure of lifting, practices and games as well as having teammates to push me beyond what I believed were my limits.

In January, I learned about the Bismarck triathlon and was lucky enough to have a peer that could answer a lot of my questions: Where do I get a good bike? Helmet? Wetsuit? Swimming lessons? I was referred to Epic Sports for all of my questions, except for swimming lessons-those I take at the Mandan Community Center because the pool is warmer and the instructor himself has swam in triathlons so he understands the training I’ll need.

For the past month, I’ve been dedicated to my work-outs by cycling 5 times a week, running 3 times a week and swimming once a week (and yes, I need to increase my swimming, but seriously, who wants to jump into a 50 degree pool when it’s 10 degrees outside…cut me some slack).

I set 2-3 goals each month so that I have something to work for as well as measure my performance and training. 

Having this triathlon on my mind has motivated me to workout every day not only because it’s good for me, but also, because I want to survive my first race. When I get tired towards the end of a 60-min. RPM class, I envision the finish line that I’ll be racing towards and I find that extra burst of strength and energy.

I’ve rekindled my competitive spirit. The burn hurts so good.

-Joanna

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine


Leave a comment

Categories